Voting now open for the Toy and Game International Excellence Awards

Published on: 18th September 2020

This year’s Toy and Game International Excellence Awards (TAGIES) features eight categories and 80 nominees and honorees. 

People of Play, the international toy and game community leader formerly known as the Chicago Toy and Game Group, has announced the finalists for the 2020 Toy and Game International Excellence Awards (TAGIES). The 13th annual TAGIE Awards will honour the best innovators, designers, marketers, retailers and suppliers in the toy and game industry. This year’s awards, sponsored by Hasbro, The Michael Kohner Corporation, PlayMonster, Cartamundi and Nexttoy, are more inclusive and bigger than ever, featuring eight categories and 80 nominees and honorees.

Winners will be revealed during a virtual awards show on Friday 20th November at 7pm CT. The 90-minute programme includes award presentations, acceptance speeches, musical guests and an opening act that gives a nod to David Blaine’s recent Ascension stunt.

“This year has been pivotal and unprecedented for our industry. We look forward to coming together with our colleagues from around the world and celebrating our individual and collective successes,” said Karri Bean, TAGIE Awards host and senior manager, licensing at Disney experiences and consumer products. “The TAGIE Awards will be a night to remember that no one in the toy and game industry should miss.”

New for 2020, immediately following the TAGIE Awards, toy and game industry professionals get an opportunity to show off their talents at the TAGIE after party, POP’s Got Talent, featuring magic from Danny Kishon, president at All in 1 Products, and Jim McCafferty, founder of JMP Creative and professional inventor Mark Setteducati. Randy Klimpert, chief creative at Creata performs and shares his ukulele and guitar collection. Plus, see the latest peanut art from Steve Casino.

This year’s categories are as follows:

  • Toy Inventor of the Year
  • Game Inventor of the Year
  • Rising Star Inventor of the Year
  • Young Inventor of the Year (Under 18 years old)
  • Art and Design Visuals of the Year
  • Innovative PR and Marketing Team of the Year
  • Most Innovative Retailer of the Year
  • Most Innovative Supplier of the Year

People of Play will also honour Erno Rubik, the inventor of the Rubik’s Cube, with a Lifetime Achievement Award. Inventors Norman and Arlene Fabricant will be honoured for Celebration of Life and Lifetime Achievement respectively.

The Roachy Fund, a scholarship fund founded in honour of Alan Roach, an acclaimed and loved game designer, will be the recipient of the Hassenfeld Humanitarian Award.

Click here for the full list of nominees and for public voting, open from now until 30th October.


Exclusive: Learning Express visits Toymaster

Monster High: The Movie trailer drops as premiere date revealed

Nigel Kay joins Creative Kids as head of Sales, UK

Curious Universe celebrates inclusion in The Sunday Times 100

Exclusive: Casdon and Joseph Joseph cook up success together

Friday Blog

On a positive note…it’s the Friday Blog!

Rainbow High welcomes six new dolls

More new roles added to Toy World’s recruitment section

Zombie Kittens wins Best Variant award at UK Games Expo

Obituary: Bob Simpson