WIT announces 2017 Wonder Women Awards finalists

Published on: 6th February 2017

women1ChiTAG founder Mary Couzin to receive WIT’s inaugural Elise Lachowyn Mentorship Award.

Women in Toys, Licensing and Entertainment (WIT) will honour a dozen outstanding female business leaders and more than 50 finalists at the 13th Annual Wonder Women Awards Gala. Held during the New York International Toy Fair, winners will be announced on Sunday, 19th February, 2017 at this year’s Gala, themed Changemakers: Playing it Forward.

With support from Tech4Kids, WIT will also present its inaugural Elise Lachowyn Mentorship Award to Mary Couzin, the Founder and CEO of the Chicago Toy & Game Group (ChiTAG). Elise Lachowyn was an WIT member who touched the lives of many in the industry as a mentor, business partner and friend. WIT honors Couzin for her immersive and impactful work as a mentor and passionate advocate for toy and game inventors around the world.

WIT will also honor former Chairman and CEO of Mattel, Jill Barad, with the Lifetime Achievement Award. Academy Award-winning actor and advocate Geena Davis, co-founder and chair of the Bentonville Film Festival and founder of the Geena Davis Institute on Gender in Media, with the 2017 Gamechanger Award, will also be honoured.

This year’s Wonder Women Awards attracted nearly 100 nomination submissions from five countries. The finalists include:

Dianne Bellchambers (Moose Toys)
Erin Stein (Macmillan Publishing)
Hayley Maguire (Hasbro)
Jennifer Bennett (Mattel)
Jessica Blue (UBM)
Karyn Weiss (Accessory Innovations)
Marie Todd (Komar Kids)
Meredith Norrie (The Walt Disney Company)
Sujata Luther (Nickelodeon)

Christina Schick (Madame Alexander Dolls)
Claire Tindall (Sphero)
Deb Salmon (Salmon Borre Group)
Kristin Hamilton (Hasbro)
Laurie Conway (Alex Brands)
Lesley Singleton (Playtime PR)
Lisa Wuennemann (PlayMonster)
Lynn Rosenblum (Middle School Moguls)
Marina Gorey (SuperAwesome)
Sejal Shah Miller (Mattel)
Sharon Vinderine (PTPA Media)
Sheena Stephens (MWW)
Tamara Horowitz (Spin Master)

Anita Choy (Moose Toys)
Anna Mowbray (ZURU Toys)
Deirdre Cross (Forrest-Pruzan Creative)
Gretchen Forrest (Hasbro)
Julia Prohaska (Mattel)
Kelly Woon (Funrise)
Laura Zebersky (Jazwares)
Tara Badie (Bandai America)

Andre Lake Mayer (ZAG Animation Studios)
Cathy Galeota (Nickelodeon)
Meghan McCarthy (Hasbro)
Julia Pistor (Mattel)

Rising Star
Annalisa Batista-Ferreira (Mattel)
Catherine Croft Swanwick, Ph.D. (Catilli Games)
Jenny Kile (Kardtects Building Cards)
Julie Kerwin (IAmElemental)
Karen Kilpatrick (JazWings)
Kathryn Hardy (Disney Consumer Products)
Kelley Williams (Paige & Paxton)
Kirsten Augustad de Molina (WABA Fun)
Laura Barta (Whole Wide World Toys)
Lisa Pelletier (Bears2Go)
Madeleine Hunter (Hunter Products)
Marissa DiBartolo (Toy Book/Toy Insider)
Nicole Jakob (Part Time Renegade)
Nikki Kennamer (Hasbro)
Stephanie Haggerty (Moose Toys)
Stephanie Simpson Bughi (Funrise)



Hornby reports encouraging group sales

Exclusive: NPD insight – how will 2020 shape 2021?

Exclusive: Geomagworld – making the difference

Scrabble words beamed onto landmark buildings

Hammerson crowd checker tool

Hammerson confirms talks over sale of UK retail parks

Sutikki welcomes trio of new hires to leadership team

Planeta Junior named CP licensing agent for Love, Diana

Midco Toys opens doors to new Burton store

Exclusive: Suppliers discuss support for retail reopening

Obituary: Terry Stephens