Results announced for 2018 British Academy Children’s Awards

Published on: 26th November 2018

This year’s big cartoon winner was Studio AKA’s Hey Duggee, which won all three of its nomination categories.

Hey Duggee’s home channel, CBeebies, also scored Channel of the Year.

The evening was studded with special moments, including an opening performance by Kidz Bop UK, an inspiring poem by Tony Walsh, a celebration of Blue Peter‘s 60th anniversary, and even a special appearance by Mickey Mouse.

The animation and related category nominees are below; see the full list at

Special Award: Clive Juster (Producer: Maisy, Mr. Benn, King Rollo)

Pre-School – Animation

Winner: Hey Duggee | Grant Orchard, Janine Voong, Sander Jones – Studio AKA/CBeebies

Sarah & Duck

Short Form

Winner: Origins | Adam Tyler, Bob Ayres, Antonio Rebolo – CTVC/TrueTube

Aliens Love Underpants and…
The Dumping Ground: Sasha’s Contact Meeting
Tony’s Sketch Book


Winner: So Awkward | Sally Martin, Ian Curtis, Anthony MacMurray – Channel X North/CBBC

The Amazing World of Gumball
Grandpa’s Great Escape
Horrible Histories

International Animation

Winner: SpongeBob SquarePants | Stephen Hillenburg, Vincent Waller, Marc Ceccarelli – Nickelodeon Animation Studio/Nicktoons

The Deep
The Heroic Quest of the Valiant Prince Ivandoe

International Pre-school

Winner: Tumble Leaf | Kelli Bixler, Drew Hodges – Amazon Studios and Bix Pix Entertainment/Prime Video

Doc McStuffins
The Stinky and Dirty Show

Feature Film

Winner: Paddington 2 | Paul King, Simon Farnaby, David Heyman – StudioCanal, HeyDay Films/StudioCanal

The Greatest Showman
Incredibles 2


Winner: Mario + Rabbids Kingdom Battle | Development Team – Ubisoft Paris & Ubisoft Milan/Ubisoft

Everybody’s Golf
Knack 2


Winner: Hey Duggee: The Counting Badge | Production Team – Scary Beasties, BBC Studios, Studio AKA

Ivandoe: The Adventure Game
Pablo’s Art World Adventure


Winner: Grant Orchard – Hey Duggee – CBeebies

Mic Graves – The Amazing World of Gumball
Beryl Richards – Joe All Alone
Adam Tyler – What Do You Mean I Can’t Change the World?


Winner: Tom Bidwell – Katy – CBBC

Helen Blakeman – Hetty Feather
Writing Team – The Amazing World of Gumball
Writing Team – Horrible Histories

Young Performer

Winner: Chloe Lea as Katy in Katy – CBBC

Daniel Frogson as Joe Holt in Joe All Alone – CBBC
Bella Ramsey as Mildred Hubble in The Worst Witch – CBBC
Tasha Lawrence as Sarah in Sarah & Duck – CBeebies


Winner: CBeebies



Rising cost of living sees retail footfall slump

Melton Toys closes after 12 years in business

Eolo Toys launches Supermasked Stretch Tech Figures

Good weather window results in early start for Light Fund Charity Swim

Hey Duggee set for first live UK tour

Rowan Atkinson immortalised in special Beano comic strip

MGA names Mehran Ravanpay EVP of global manufacturing and supply chain

Friday Blog

Planes, trains and automobiles…it’s the Friday Blog!

Outdoor Toy Awards 2022 winners announced

See the latest new roles added to Toy World’s recruitment round-up